School Board Elects Officers, New Members Sworn In

At their June 20, 2019 meeting, the Corvallis School Board elected officers for the 2019-20 school year. Sami Al-AbdRabbuh was elected as chair and Sarah Finger McDonald was elected as vice chair.

The final agenda item of the evening was the swearing in of two returning board members and two new board members. Terese Jones and Sarah Finger McDonald were each re-elected.  Brandy Fortson and Tina Baker were newly elected; they will officially begin their duties on July 1, 2019.

Members of the board said their thank yous and farewells to School Board member Ed Junkins, whose term ended this month and who is currently serving on the Corvallis City Council. Board member Loren Chavarría was unable to attend this final meeting of the year and was recognized last month for her service on the board.