Menu

Boundary Review

In May 2018, Corvallis voters approved a $199,916,925 capital construction bond, enabling us to transform our aging infrastructure and provide more innovative and equitable opportunities for all. We are committed to engaging the community in the upcoming phases of our construction projects and welcome your participation.

Latest News

Boundary Review Information

What's Happening Now

Important Deadlines and Dates

Applications for the Boundary Review Task Force (BRTF) will be available online October 1.

November: Task Force members announced

December: Task Force meetings begin

January and February: Boundary Review Open House meetings, locations to be announced

April, 2020: Boundary Adjustment recommendation presented to Corvallis School Board

September 12, 2019

The Boundary Review Task Force Charter was presented to the Corvallis School Board. The task force will include school principals and, parents, and guardians from all school feeder systems.

September 9, 2019

A sample of parents and guardians will be contacted in a telephone survey. This survey will help district leaders better understand the perspective of parents and guardians as we begin the boundary review process. The district is contracting with Critical Data for the phone surveys.

August 15, 2019

Assistant Superintendent Melissa Harder will be leading the District’s Boundary Review Process.  The process will be facilitated by FLO Analytics, a consulting firm with expertise in data analysis and experience in assisting school districts with boundary changes.’

The review is planned to be completed by March 2020 with boundary adjustments going into effect for the 2020-21 school year.

Boundary Review Task Force

Boundary Review Task Force

After the passage of the $199.9 million bond in May 2018, Corvallis School District started planning for the design and construction of new and renovated school facilities. The bond program includes increased capacity throughout the district in K-5 schools but with our current school boundaries, we have more elementary schools feeding into one high school, resulting in an imbalance in middle and high school enrollments. 

In order to utilize our school capacities at optimal enrollment levels and to stay on the same time schedule as the bond program, the Corvallis School Board reviewed and approved the boundary review process at its August 15, 2019 meeting. The process will be facilitated by FLO Analytics, a consulting firm with expertise in data analysis and experience in assisting school districts with boundary changes.

The process will include a Boundary Review Task Force (BRTF) that will meet nearly weekly from early December until April 2020. The BRTF will be made up of building principals and parent/guardian and community volunteer representatives from all neighborhood boundary areas. The Task Force will select co-chairpersons and meetings will be facilitated by FLO Analytics.

The Task Force’s charge will be to create a recommendation for adjusted boundaries that balances enrollments across high school feeder schools, prepares schools for growth, and identifies implications for the 2018 bond program. This work will result in a recommendation report for adjusted boundaries to be presented to the School Board in April 2020 for consideration and approval.

Using the district’s boundary adjustment guiding principles and equity focus, review the springboard proposal to develop a consensus set of recommendations that:

  • creates a balance between high school attendance feeder systems
  • aligns future student populations with future school capacities
  • identifies implications for the 2018 Bond Program
  • intentionally engage community members of underserved, diverse or
    marginalized individuals and groups

The task force charter will be available on October 1, 2019.

Task Force Charter

Boundary Review FAQ's

Q: Why are you changing boundaries? Can’t you postpone this?

A: Our high school feeder systems are not balanced and need to be adjusted. We have new spaces being built in the district thanks to the 2018 bond, and boundary adjustments will shift students into the new spaces.

Q: How will I know if I’m affected by a boundary change?

A: Parents and guardians of students who could be assigned to a new school because of a
boundary change will receive a letter from the district as soon as firm information is available after the School Board votes on the recommendation in March. District maps will be available on the district website under the boundary change proposal tab to see if your residence is part of the recommended changes.

Q: My child will be a senior next year. Will they be able to finish at their current high school?

A: To help with the transition to new boundaries, the district expects to offer a continuity exemption. The
continuity exemption is an automatically approved in-district transfer that allows students who are affected by a boundary change and who meet the specific criteria to stay at their current school grade next school year.

Q: What if my student is already attending school on an approved inter-district transfer? Will the inter-district transfer be revoked?

A: No. Students in good standing that are attending school on an approved inter-district transfer won’t be affected.

Q: What if my student is attending school outside of our neighborhood for a language learner program or special education services?

A: At the start of the boundary adjustment process, space at schools will be “saved” for these programs by reducing the total capacity numbers for schools so the programs wouldn’t be “crowded out” by boundary adjustments. For language learner programs, students would either stay at the school where they are currently receiving services or if the boundary adjustments move their residence to a school that provides language services, the student would go to the new school. Students will still have access to the services they need, regardless of boundary changes.

Q: Will we have to do boundary changes again in the future?

A: The school board may conduct a boundary review at any time. After this process, we do not anticipate the need to balance enrollments for at least five to 10 years.

Q: Doesn’t the district’s focus on equity requires the boundary adjustments to distribute students by socioeconomic status? Shouldn’t boundary changes even out the poverty numbers at schools?

A: The goal of the boundary adjustment process is to balance student enrollments across the
high school feeder systems, not to redistribute socio-economic status. However, the equity focus
and discussion of how boundary changes affect underserved and marginalized students is an
important part of the process. It means that the Boundary Review Task Force will look at the
resulting impact of changes on students and communities paying particular attention to any
potential unintended negative consequences.

Learn More about the Task Force

Stay Informed