Menu

Boundary Review

In May 2018, Corvallis voters approved a $199,916,925 capital construction bond, enabling us to transform our aging infrastructure and provide more innovative and equitable opportunities for all. We are committed to engaging the community in the upcoming phases of our construction projects and welcome your participation.

Latest News

Boundary Review Information

What's Happening Now

Share Your Thoughts

Para ayuda con traducciones, favor de comunicarse con Claudia Enciso Kuraica al 541-766-4826.

Task Force meetings will be open to the public but time will not be provided for public comment during regular meetings. If you wish to share your thoughts with the committee, please use the contact form at the link below. All comments will be shared with the committee.

Meeting Dates and Notes

All meetings will take place at the Western View Center, 1435 SW 35th Street unless otherwise noted. Notes will be published as soon as possible following the meeting date.

April 9, 2020, 6:30 – 9 pm, District Board Meeting Room: School Board Meeting, school board asked to vote on Boundary Adjustment recommendation

March 5 2020, 6:30 – 9 pm, District Board Meeting Room: School Board Meeting, Superintendent Noss present Boundary Adjustment recommendation to Corvallis School Board

March 3, 6-8 pm: Task Force meeting #7

February 18, 6-8 pm: Boundary Review Open House, Linus Pauling Middle School

February 11, 6-8 pm: Task Force meeting #6

February 4, 6-8 pm: Task Force meeting #5

January 21, 6-8 pm: Boundary Review Open House, Cheldelin Middle School

  • Online Feedback Survey (now closed)

January 14, 6-8 pm: Task Force meeting #4

January 7, 6-8 pm: Task Force meeting #3

December 17, 6-8 pm: Task Force meeting #2

December 10, 6-8 pm: Meeting #1

November - December, 2019

The Boundary Review Task Force application closed in November. Applicants were notified and task force members were selected. The first Boundary Review Task Force (BRTF) meeting will take place December 10, 2019.

October 1, 2019

Applications for the Boundary Review Task Force (BRTF) are now available.

September 12, 2019

The Boundary Review Task Force Charter was presented to the Corvallis School Board. The task force will include school principals and, parents, and guardians from all school feeder systems.

September 9, 2019

A sample of parents and guardians will be contacted in a telephone survey. This survey will help district leaders better understand the perspective of parents and guardians as we begin the boundary review process. The district is contracting with Critical Data for the phone surveys.

August 15, 2019

Assistant Superintendent Melissa Harder will be leading the District’s Boundary Review Process.  The process will be facilitated by FLO Analytics, a consulting firm with expertise in data analysis and experience in assisting school districts with boundary changes.’

The review is planned to be completed by March 2020 with boundary adjustments going into effect for the 2020-21 school year.

Boundary Review Task Force Charter

Boundary Review Task Force

Task Force Meeting Schedule and Notes

  • View the “What’s Happening Now” tab for details

About the Boundary Review

After the passage of the $199.9 million bond in May 2018, Corvallis School District started planning for the design and construction of new and renovated school facilities. The bond program includes increased capacity throughout the district in K-5 schools but with our current school boundaries, we have more elementary schools feeding into one high school, resulting in an imbalance in middle and high school enrollments. 

In order to utilize our school capacities at optimal enrollment levels and to stay on the same time schedule as the bond program, the Corvallis School Board reviewed and approved the boundary review process at its August 15, 2019 meeting. The process will be facilitated by FLO Analytics, a consulting firm with expertise in data analysis and experience in assisting school districts with boundary changes.

The process will include a Boundary Review Task Force (BRTF) that will meet nearly weekly from early December until April 2020. The BRTF will be made up of building principals and parent/guardian and community volunteer representatives from all neighborhood boundary areas. Meetings will be facilitated by FLO Analytics.

The Task Force’s charge will be to create a recommendation for adjusted boundaries that balances enrollments across high school feeder schools, prepares schools for growth, and identifies implications for the 2018 bond program. This work will result in a recommendation report for adjusted boundaries to be presented to the School Board in April 2020 for consideration and approval.

Using the district’s boundary adjustment guiding principles and equity focus, review the springboard proposal to develop a consensus set of recommendations that:

  • creates a balance between high school attendance feeder systems
  • aligns future student populations with future school capacities
  • identifies implications for the 2018 Bond Program
  • intentionally engage community members of underserved, diverse or
    marginalized individuals and groups
Boundary Task Force Charter
Guiding Principles
Equity Look Fors

Boundary Review FAQ's

Para ayuda con traducciones, favor de comunicarse con Claudia Enciso-Kuraica al 541-766-4826.

Q. Why was Jefferson Elementary chosen as the elementary school to make the change to Cheldelin?

Linus Pauling MS currently has four elementary feeder schools. Two are Dual Language Immersion schools that must move to LPMS for the DLI program.  

Q. Can the district add a few modular classrooms to the grounds at LPMS to accommodate the growing population?

Modular classrooms don’t help with the crowded community spaces, such as restrooms, hallways, cafeteria, and gyms at Linus Pauling. The 2018 bond promise includes the removal of all modulars from the district. The bond program took into account district-wide capacity. We have enough classrooms between LPMS and CMS to house all of our students.

Q. What will happen to students already enrolled at LPMS?

Students enrolled at LPMS in grades 6, 7, or 8 during the 2019-2020 school year, and whose address locates them in the Jefferson boundary, will be permitted to continue to Corvallis High School. Students who are attending LPMS on a non-program transfer must reapply for a transfer to attend CHS as stated in policy JCA.

Q. My older child attends Linus Pauling, with this change, their younger sibling would go to Cheldelin. Will my child’s sibling still get preference when applying for a transfer to Linus Pauling?

Yes.  Policy JCA-AR describes the lottery process for students which gives preference to siblings.

Q. How will changing Jefferson to a feeder school for Cheldelin and Crescent Valley impact demographics at those schools?

When combined, these demographics do not create a significant difference at Cheldelin and Crescent Valley. Current demographics at Jefferson are as follows:

Emerging Bilinguals = 5%
Special Education = 22% (this high number is due to the students in the Life Skills program)
Students Navigating Poverty = 23%
Racial Diversity = 23% students identify as non-white

Current demographics at Cheldelin are as follows:

Emerging Bilinguals = 7%
Special Education = 8%
Students Navigating Poverty = 29%
Racial Diversity = 25% students identify as non-white

Q. Is the district doing this to create another Title I school at Linus Pauling?

  • No. Our goal is to reduce enrollment at LPMS, not to create another Title I school. If the district met the required threshold for LPMS to be classified as a Title I school, that would dilute the funding our four elementary schools receive. Decreasing funding at those four schools is not in the best interest of our most vulnerable students.

Q. Why are the superintendent’s recommendation enrollment figures different from those that were presented by FLO Analytics?

FLO Analytics used CSD’s student statistics for all of the summary statistics documents. Their enrollment figures included:

  • Students living in the attendance area
  • Students attending the school because they were placed there for a program (Dual Immersion or Life Skills)
  • Students attending the school on an out of district transfer

FLO enrollment figures did not include those students who had transferred into the school for non-program reasons (by choice or because they were a sibling of another student at that school).  Non-program transfer movement is dictated by policy and policy can change.

Superintendent Noss included those non-program transfers into his enrollment numbers to get a more accurate accounting of students.

Q. Will this change the number of transfer openings at LPMS? at CHS?

With a movement of students to Cheldelin and eventually CVHS, this should create additional capacity at LPMS and CHS for transfers. The number of spots available is monitored each year.

Q. Why did we go through a Boundary Review Process to just have the Superintendent propose his own idea?

The Boundary Review Process was valuable and allowed the district to gather feedback twice from the community through Feedback Surveys.  The Task Force wrestled with tough questions and map scenarios and learned about the limitations of our school district geographically.

One of the primary concerns of the Task Force as they grappled with a map recommendation was to make a meaningful difference in the enrollment imbalance at the middle schools that would continue into future years.

Q. What about the impact of fewer kids walking and biking to middle and high school?

Our district strongly supports active transportation to and from school. While the middle school boundary change would require a longer bike ride for Jefferson boundary students, that option is still available and bus transportation is a sustainable transportation choice.

Q: How does the district Transfer Policy impact this issue?

Our transfer policy prioritizes resident transfer requests over non-resident transfer requests. Once all resident transfers were completed for the 2019-2020 school year, non-resident openings were approved by the school board.  A total of 49 students were approved for non-resident transfers into the Corvallis School District in May 2019.  These transfers spanned grade levels from elementary to high school.  The only secondary schools open for non-resident transfers were Franklin (grades 6 and 8), Cheldelin Middle School, and Crescent Valley High School.

Priority for Transfers
When requests for transfer into a school exceed the number of spaces available, a lottery process is implemented.  Priority is given to qualifying students in this order.

  • Corvallis School District (CSD) students with siblings currently attending a transfer school and who will attend with the student already enrolled.
  • Other CSD students.
  • Non-CSD students seeking non-resident transfer with siblings currently attending the CSD transfer school and who will attend with the student already enrolled.
  • Other non-CSD students seeking non-resident transfer.

Q: DLI has an outsized impact on LPMS enrollment. Can’t we focus on that?

A. We currently have about 500 emerging multilingual students in our schools. While not all of them attend DLI schools, this program was put in place for these learners. It is about preserving a language that is at most risk. It is providing students with academic language in Spanish. As the overall on-time graduation rate for Corvallis has increased to 89% for 2018-19, we have seen the opportunity gap for historically underserved students continues to shrink as well. Hispanic/Latinx students (73 of 82) graduated at a rate of 89% in 2018-19, an improvement of 23.6 percentage points since 2013-14. We attribute this success to the efficacy of the DLI Program.

Q: How is school capacity calculated?

A: Facility capacity is based on a formula. Utilization is defined as the percentage of available classroom seats used by current students. This measurement was developed by the Program Resources and Review (PR2) Committee in 2005, and is calculated as a percentage of planning capacity and actual enrollment. Planning capacity is calculated per building based on the number of physical classroom spaces available multiplied by the number of students planned per classroom (set at 25 for K-5 and 28 for grades 6-12) multiplied by 85 percent to account for specialized instruction and prep periods.

The capacity for Linus Pauling capacity is 881 students. Current enrollment at LPMS is 804 students. If a boundary adjustment is not implemented, enrollment roll-up numbers at LPMS would be as follows:  2020-21 = 834

2021-22 = 841 

2022-23 = 863

2023-24 = 882

2024-25 = 850

2025-26 = 819

Q: Will we have to do boundary changes again in the future?

A: The school board may conduct a boundary review at any time. After this process, we do not anticipate the need to balance enrollments for at least five to 10 years.

Q: Doesn’t the district’s focus on equity requires the boundary adjustments to distribute students by socioeconomic status? Shouldn’t boundary changes even out the poverty numbers at schools?

A: The goal of the boundary adjustment process is to balance student enrollments across the high school feeder systems, not to redistribute socio-economic status. However, the equity focus and discussion of how boundary changes affect underserved and marginalized students is an important part of the process. It means that the Boundary Review Task Force will look at the resulting impact of changes on students and communities paying particular attention to any potential unintended negative consequences.

Learn more about the Task Force

Stay Informed